POTUS ’08 Revisited

If you will recall, I reserved the right to readdress this subject, and I am now taking advantage of that.  It is now a couple of days after the Super Tuesday primaries.  The dust has settled; candidates have left the race, while others have vowed a fight to the finish.  The GOP now has a clear frontrunner candidate, while the Democrats still have a very close battle between two of the most liberal candidates to ever emerge.  I’ve had some time to recollect.

My support for Romney was a safe bet for me personally and strategically, in that I knew McCain would emerge the winner on Tuesday; however, I truly did support Romney over him, but I am willing to vote for McCain in November, because he is obviously better than any other candidate and as I said before, he is the best option for taking over our military as Commander in Chief in a time of war.  Further, I believe we can get the right people in to help him with domestic policy like the economy, etc.

My primary concern still lies with the Democrats’ race, though.  While I believe Clinton came out the winner on Tuesday, I know Obama still has a lot of support and when things are this close, it wouldn’t take much to switch things up very quickly. 

The concerns that I have on the GOP side, however, have changed considerably.  We have our candidate – the question now is who will he lean on for support, meaning who will the Vice President candidate be? 

If he wants to pull any aspect of the far right, McCain will have to get a conservative candidate, likely from the South, to be his running mate.  And newsflash, folks:  Huckabee is NOT a conservative, so he is eliminated from that pool.  I do not know who it will be, but let me just say that unless he gets someone in there who can get support from fiscal and social conservatives and not divide the Party, then he will not be able to overcome the Clinton and DNC machine. 

Someone who I respect a great deal recommended considering Haley Barbour, Governor of Mississippi.  It donned on me that this would indeed be a good consideration, because Barbour is a great behind-the-scenes guy, who understands domestic policy, he’s conservative, and he can unite the far right of our Party.  The only negative there is that he is considered to be kind of a country good ole boy, and some would say that the country and the GOP has had all the Southern/Texas good ole boy mentality that they can stand for a while.  Still, even if not Haley Barbour, McCain has to consider someone like that, in order for him to win.

Let me add one other thing about Romney; the way he left was very admirable.  He said that he was suspending his campaign, because he (and I’m paraphrasing here) could not in good conscience divide the Party and the country for his own personal ambitions while we are in a time of war.  Now, granted, he knew he was not going to win; however, he has the money to stay in to the end if he wanted, but he bowed out, which I believe was the smart decision ethically and strategically (Huckabee should take a hint, but I wouldn’t expect him to be as smart as Romney). 

Someone else that I respect pointed out that Romney is likely setting up a strategy to be the most obvious candidate after McCain decides not to run after four years (although I think that’s a ploy by McCain and I believe he will “re-think” that decision and instead decide to stay in the race). 

Here’s what I would do if I were on Romney’s team:  as soon as this current election is over, I would re-start the PAC and begin laying the groundwork for 2012.  I would team up with Newt Gingrich to be my running mate and start running together from day one.  This would not only continue momemtum, which could take a number of roles in four years, but also would help “encourage” McCain not to even consider running for a second term.  He should take some Boardships or work in an advisory capacity with corporations and the GOP or something (not lobbying or anything that would be questionable in the future) that keeps him active, raising money and in the spotlight, and then when the time is right, emerge as the conservative alternative to McCain. 

A Romney/Gingrich team could be very effective.  Romney could learn a lot about running as a non-candidate from Newt, because Newt has been more popular out of office than he ever could have been in a divisive political role. 

All in all, I think there is still a lot to unfold in the next eight months, as well as the next four years.  I think there’s still disappointment on the horizon for the GOP and needless to say, I remain concerned as to what will happen on the Democratic side. 

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

